Passion-Based could Renew Teachers’ Spirits

85464106_094797c373Photo CC-Tracey

The first article I read was “Nine Tenets of Passion-Based Learning” by Kimberly Vincent. I highlighted so much in this article. She tells how to find passion, how to show it to students so they can find it themselves. She says, “We need to prepare kids to be successful in the real world, not just while in school.” A big part of passion-based learning is to apply it outside of the classroom so the passion can be transferred to a classroom setting with the same interest. She adds, “Everyone has a deep rooted drive to know that they matter to others and that what they’re doing matters. Passion-based learning is not about matching students with topics that interest them, it’s about presenting subjects to students in a way that’s relevant.” As a future educator I need to be passionate so students can see the excitement transparently through me.

Being passionate in today’s educational system can be difficult because most teachers today will say, “We just teach to the test because the results are so important that we don’t have time to do other projects.” The classroom system needs to be balanced; otherwise students are not going to be adequately prepared for the world today. Lis Nielsen says, “Are we going to lose another excellent, passion-driven teacher to a compliance not initiative, because of course, that’s what’s easiest to measure.” Teachers today are getting frustrated & they are the essential puzzle piece to preparing students but with all of the pressures of test results lingering in their mind it can be overwhelming.

My next article is “25 Ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom” by Saga Briggs.

My biggest take-aways from this article:

  1. Indulge your own passions when you are outside the classroom. It’s important to take time for yourself so that passion can be displayed to the students. For example, I like to cook so bringing in treats that I made or doing cooking activities will show them my passions & how excited I am about that. I would do this in hopes to inspire them to find their own passion.
  2. Let students share their passions. Let them express what they are into.
  3. Value all passions equally. This may sound like a common-sense idea but I can see why it was highlighted. For me, it would be easy to be equally excited about girl hobbies because I can relate to that. But it may be harder to be equally excited for a student who was into video games because I don’t know anything about them. But it’s important for each student to feel important.
  4. Weave standards into passion-based learning. This is my favorite because it’s a true balancing act & teaching what is required along with helping students explore their own interests is easier said than done. The trick is to interweave the two.
6 thoughts on “Passion-Based could Renew Teachers’ Spirits

  1. I bag on test-score centered schools all the time, but it’s not strictly their fault. The educational system is flawed from the bottom up. Schools with sub-standard test scores get no funding, so they have to beat standardized testing into the heads of their kids, and then they claim they have no time for anything else. If education was really about learning, about applicability outside of the classroom, and less about money, we’d be on the right track. Higher education in some European countries is totally free.

    • I completely agree with you.The struggling schools seem to be drowning in less-than-desirable educational resources. Revamping the system would take billions upon billions of dollars. We can only hope that education starts getting on the right path with putting the students before the money in order to appropriately prepare them for the real world. Great comment, thought provoking, and completely spot-on!

  2. I enjoyed reading your post about teacher spirit. I like that you noted about passion outside of the classroom, and how it should be considered with learning. That is something all teachers need to notice more. Learning is a big part outside the classroom, and we can all take away from it. Thank you for sharing such a great opinionated article. 🙂 It was refreshing to read.

    • Thanks, learning about passion-based learning is inspiring. I want to be the best teacher possible & reading about ways to make myself the best I can be for my future students gets me excited to start my career.

  3. Your blog on passion-based learning is inspiring. I hope to be part of a new league of teachers who will weave the interest of students into the current curriculum and standards. THanks for your blog.

Leave a Reply

