Bold books, unfamiliar territory

Bold Books for Innovative Teaching…a little scary for me.

 

                The topic of discussion this week just puts me a little on edge. Not that I’m not okay with people’s sexual orientation, it’s just that I haven’t been around it much at all and frankly I don’t want to offend anyone. I think that reading these books is good for us up-and-coming teachers but it doesn’t mean that it’s not uncomfortable. I think the article by Don Gallo is informational to see the opinions and perspectives of authors and adults who are knowledgeable about homosexuality.

                The first question he asks C.J. Bott is “Why are the emotional and educational needs and interests of gay teens still being ignored in many schools today?” and that, I thought, was the perfect place to start. I must say that I am ignorant that gay teens needs are different than those who are not gay. (There are crickets chirping at this moment; which means I am oblivious to the extra emotional support these students need.) The article was very informative and challenging as a future teacher. It was interesting and useful as well.  

                So…as obvious as it is now…I struggle with this topic because I am not familiar with it.  So I am trying to have an open mind and read Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Empress of the World. Depressed teens…dealing with their changing bodies, interests, and judgment from others and still trying to be students in school is quite stressful (even to read about)!

                So for the sake of others (and apparently myself) and so I don’t offend anyone I am going to keep this short. I guess from this I learned I need to get educated on homosexuals and how to handle it professionally in the classroom. 

2 thoughts on “Bold books, unfamiliar territory

  1. I like how you analyzed this. I feel like with my religious views it makes things very awkward but you are right you have to handle it professionally in the classroom.

  2. I love how you handle this–acknowledging that you don’t have a lot of experience and the comfort level is definitely lacking, but you have an open mind. For me, I think we do our students a disservice when we don’t have books in our classrooms that serve as a mirror for their lives and experiences and feelings. We also have to be aware that LBQGT students are likely to be bullied in high school, and we have a responsibility to stand up for the rights of all of our students and to create an environment where everyone feels accepted.

Leave a Reply

