YA is not just for teens, adults find a love for it too

I was just browsing the internet to find stats on young adult lit and I ran across an article by NPR that said “55 percent of young adult fiction was read by adults.” Most of them said they didn’t care what the book was classified as, but more of how good the book was. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised as I began to read young adult literature. I expected it all to be fantasy and about magical creatures and witchcraft. However, I have been enlightened to see that real world issues are popular among young adult authors and readers. I have really been enjoying the connection to real life in the books I’ve read so far. I think they are able to help some see their situations through the eyes of a character and maybe it helps them in their journey in life. For example, in Rules by Cynthia Lord, David has autism and it speaks of how family dynamics change when a member of the family has an impairment. Another example is in Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian by Alexie in the fact that the main character was born with water on the brain and has many mental and physical disabilities. It is from the perspective of the disabled and what life looks like from his perspective. It’s actually quite intriguing and interesting even as an adult. Actually, I could hardly put the book down this morning! I know that when I went to go check out Part-time Indian from the library there was only one copy left and it just got checked in that morning. To me, that is exciting that these authors can speak so close to the issues that young adults face daily. 

Leave a Reply

