Rules & Looks

Our class assigned book for the week is Rules by Cynthia Lord. It is about Katherine, a twelve year old girl, and her autistic brother David. David loves rules and so she keeps a notebook of drawings and rules that she makes for David. Her rules are for normal function in life. Her rules are about socializing, manners, and common courtesy that most kids learn along the way, but David struggles to retain the lessons kids usually learn in growing up. Katherine, the young girl, loves drawing and longs to be friends with her new next door neighbor girl. I am only partially way through the book but find it very interesting. I find it comparable so far to “Out of My Mind” by Sharon Draper. Melody has cerebral palsy and isn’t able to move or speak but she is very intelligent. It is similar to David because he has so much to say and gets excited about the little joys of life but isn’t able to successfully communicate to his family, just as Melody struggles to communicate her excitement in life. I am enjoying this book so much already, I have a hard time putting it down at night when my eyes are drooping with tiredness.

 

I am also reading “Looks” by Madeleine George about Meghan who is overweight at her junior high and is made fun of. The junior high setting seems typical today, with the jocks, nerds, outcasts, and cheerleaders. Meghan feels invisible even though she knows that everyone can see her because she is overweight. I am just in the first couple of chapters, but just like “Rules” I can’t seem to put it down either! The YA lit today relates so well to teens and the issues they face on a daily basis. I didn’t know if I would be able to relate to these topics but I find them all interesting and can’t seem to put them down! 

Leave a Reply

